Vegetarians make a choice and decide to stay away from red meat, poultry, game, fish, or animal by-products (such as gelatine). Some of them, who also don’t eat eggs, dairy or any other animal products, are called vegans. It means that both vegetarians and vegans must plan their daily meals very carefully not to miss out on relevant nutrients.
What suplements are needed in vegetarian diet?
Vegetarians need to make sure they get enough iron and vitamin B12. Vegans – if they get enough calcium, iodine, long-chain omega 3 acids. To make sure your „green diet” is sufficient, it is good to talk with your healthcare provider or your dietician in scheduling your all day meals.
What are the side effects of lack nutrients easily found in animal products?
- Too little iron leads to anaemia and weakness of the immune system
- Lack of vitamin B12 may cause anemia and damage of nervous system, as well as infertility and bone or heart disease. The only reliable way to achieve this is by eating fortified foods or taking a vitamin B12 supplement
- If you not get enough calcium, your bones will be weak and you might get break more likely
- Insufficient iodine intake causes hypothyroidism
- Non adequate level of omega 3 fatty acids might slow your brain`s activity
How much iron do I need daily?
Adult men (aged 18 and over) need about 8.7 mg of iron a day, and women (aged 19 to 50 years) need about 14.8 mg a day. Women over 50 years of age need 8.7 mg of iron a day. If your vegetarian diet includes pulses, nuts, dried fruits (especially prunes), dark green vegetables you should be getting enough iron. Combining iron-rich foods with a source of vitamin C can help boost absorption.
Are there any gelatine-free vitamin D?
Yes, there is a range of vitamin D products which are not animal sourced and suitable for vegetarians or vegans. Instead of gelatine or lanolin they are based on lichens (cross between mushrooms and algae) and mushroooms. Suppliers of these organic supplemets must authorize all thier marketed nutritional products as they are not derived from animals at any stage.